If the Sun is a star, why is it so Big?

The Sun imaged by the Extreme Ultraviolet Imaging Telescope: NASA
The Sun imaged by the Extreme Ultraviolet Imaging Telescope: NASA

“Mummmmm”,”yes”. “I have a question”.  “Go on then, tell me about it”.  “Brian Cox says the sun is a star, why is it bigger than other stars?”  “Because it is” is not a viable option.

Before I started to look for an answer I became sidetracked reading about Professor Brian Cox.  One of his inspirer’s had been Carl Sagan.  So, I thought who is Carl Sagan.

Well, on my travels so to speak, I read one of Carl Sagan’s quotes and thought that will do me.

“I went to the librarian and asked for a book about stars … And the answer was stunning.

The Pleiades, an open cluster consisting of approximately 3,000 stars at a distance of 400 light-years (120 parsecs) from Earth in the constellation of Taurus
The Pleiades, an open cluster consisting of approximately 3,000 stars at a distance of 400 light-years (120 parsecs) from Earth in the constellation of Taurus: NASA

It was that the Sun was a star but really close. The stars were suns, but so far away they were just little points of light …

The scale of the universe suddenly opened up to me. It was a kind of religious experience. There was a magnificence to it, a grandeur, a scale which has never left me. Never ever left me.”  – Carl Sagan

Leave a Reply

