Lose or Loose

Lose or loose
Is it loose or will I lose it?

I get confused between lose and loose.  I have no problem with reading them in context.

I’m sure it’s to do with their pronunciation. In my head I try to make the right choice by comparing their sounds with chose and choose.

That’s not the way to do it.

My reminder post:

Lose – sounds like “looozz”.  Rhymes with “snooze”

  • No longer have something.
  • Fail to get or win.

Examples:

  • I do not want to lose my pen.
  • I better not lose the keys.
  • Kam does not like to lose when he is racing.
  • Do not lose belief in your skills and abilities.
  • We build more towns but, animals lose their habitats.
  • Use it or lose it.
  • Please, keep calm.  Don’t lose your temper, it’s not worth it.
  • My watch ticks too slowly.  It loses time.

 

Loose – rhymes with goose or moose

  • Not tight;
  • Not closely constrained or constricted or constrict
  • Not fastened, unsecured, unattached

Examples:

  • His clothes are very loose.  They look very baggy.
  • The sticks broke loose and floated down stream.
  • In the park the dogs run loose.
  • The knot is too loose so the boat may lose it’s mooring.

My note to you

I hope this post helps you remember the difference between lose and loose.  Already I have used it to remind me and it does clear things up for me.

If it has been a help, or you’d like to see other confusing words or pronunciations written about, leave me a comment.

One thought on “Lose or Loose

  1. Kamtime April 7, 2015 / 00:42

    I love this post.
    A little bit boring, maybe.
    Not quite a Kam question, definitely.
    Useful, absolutely.
    I haven’t made a mistake since posting it.
    Hope it helps other people as well.
    Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

